Gratitude Tuesday

Image

Via Flickr User shannonkringen

For me, gratitude has been one of the most important–and at times most difficult–practices to cultivate. I, like many people, tend to become overwhelmed by negativity much of the time, and I forget that I have so much joy in my life. There will always be the yin and yang of darkness and light, and we must try to learn to appreciate both. Without one, there would not be the other. Sometimes we try to live only in the light and try to evade the darkness; sometimes we become consumed by sadness or grief or anger and start believing darkness is all there is. In the latter case, we might even start avoiding or ignoring the light because we don’t think that it’s real, that it’ll deceive us by giving us joy and then stripping it away. That’s how it seems sometimes, but though both sides may shift in form, they are both always there.

As a recovering perfectionist (and, to quote Brené Brown, “an aspiring goodenoughist”), it serves me to take the time to remember the light in my life instead of focusing completely on what is “wrong.”

So I’d like to begin to post three things I am grateful for once (at least) a week. So here’s Gratitude Tuesday. Grati-Tuesday? Nah, I think we’ll just stick with the first one. 😉

Today I am grateful for:

  • My mom completing seven out of ten radiation treatments. She’s kicking ass!
  • The opportunity to be a maid of honor for one of my very best friends in July. The co-MOH and I are having a ton of fun planning the bachelorette party. Fortunately she and I are also good friends and see eye-to-eye on almost everything.
  • Living in the lovely, spirited, unique city of Austin, which is so full of good people, good music, and good yoga. 

How about you, friends? What are you grateful for today?

 

7 responses to “Gratitude Tuesday

  1. I am grateful for being almost done with radiation. I am grateful for such a beautiful, empathetic, amazing daughter. I am grateful for supportive friends and family throughout this tiresome process. I am grateful for a son that pitches in doing chores and shopping for me.
    I am grateful that I get to see the sunrise every morning and the sunset every evening.
    Thank you for reminding me that there is so much to be grateful for.

  2. Great post! I love the phrase goodenoughist. I’m also a recovering perfectionist. Gratitude is a great tool. If you’re interested, my blog is gratiduenist.wordpress.com.

  3. Great things to be grateful for. I used to live near Austin and I miss it terribly! Your mom is a trooper. I am grateful today for a kick butt yoga class, a clean house and my son making teachers honor roll!

Leave a Reply

