Headstand Roll-over

Image

Via Flickr User Bitterroot

After my successful headstand drop-over/fall-over experiment, I braved up today in class and tried headstand without a wall. Ah! I managed to stay up for five breaths and come back down without having to drop/fall over.

However. Then I got a little overzealous: when we had the opportunity to do another inversion, I thought, “YEAH let’s do it again!”

So I did. And I held it for maybe 1/2 to 1 breath and came tumbling down the other side and somersaulted. Yep, a headstand roll-over. Totally smooth.

Fortunately I had prepared and set up my headstand at the back of my mat so I had space to fall over. I did not expect, however, to roll over. It turned out to be effective (enough), though my fellow students must have wondered what the hell I was doing. I mean, I know we’re all supposed to be zoned in on our own poses, but it’s kind of hard not to notice someone somersaulting out of a headstand. Ha, whoops.

This came at the end of class, when I was shaky and tired–so you would think I would have opted for something else. Apparently, though, by that point I had sweated out all my fear.  Or it could have also been that by that point my body had decided it was done cooperating with me. Either way–I’ll be a little more cautious and sensible next time. Another example of yoga teaching us humility.

I’m always amazed at yoga’s ability to give us what we need, whether it’s humility or any number of other things. Sometimes it’s unpleasant–for example, some poses, particularly hip-openers, can cause a huge release of emotions. Often these are things we’ve been holding onto for a while, and feeling them emerge from the dark corners of our minds can make us feel like we’re suddenly standing unarmed before our enemy.

But, as much as an experience like that can suck, we need it. We can try to keep our enemies in the dungeon, but they’ll taunt us until we let them out and face them.

Yoga can also bring about happy feelings, of course, which is part of the reason we get hooked in the first place. Today’s session soothed some the anxiety I’ve been feeling for the past few days, and even though I didn’t experience any earth-shattering transformations on the mat, I felt lighter afterward.

In other news, after having dinner with my friend Lyn, who’s visiting from out of town, we decided to stake out the SXSW premiere of Don Jon, a film written, directed by, and starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt, the love of my fantasy life  just some actor guy. We stood across the street and watched him walk the red carpet, along with Tony Danza and Brie Larson.

Unfortunately, my iPhone camera was unable to adequately capture the moment (due to the bright lights). I managed to get a barely-readable shot of the marquee:

Image

The Paramount Theatre

But that’s it. If you’re interested, check out Getty Images for some actual premiere photos. That’s what I saw…except I was a bit farther away 😉

Not bad for a Monday evening in Austin!

One response to “Headstand Roll-over

  1. Love the kitty! I feel pleased at your bravery and willingness to “fall” in class. You are challenging yourself with humor, which is how we grow. I always get something of value from your writings that relates to my own life; please keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

