Newbie Class

I decided to hit up a “newbie class” this morning at BFree. It was certainly not easy, though not as intense and sweaty as the flow classes I have been attending there. It was kind of nice to get reminders about the alignment of some the poses–it can be easy to forget that you should be pulling your shoulders back in downward dog or that you should widen your stance when transitioning from Warrior I to Warrior II.

I’ve been experiencing some problems with my muscles, though–sometimes I’ll get a slight tremor or spasm somewhere, and often I’ll just feel much weaker than usual. I suspect it’s a side effect of one my meds; I was on the same one back when I used to jog and experienced the same kind of symptoms, despite that I was in pretty good shape at the time. It’s not a problem in restorative poses, but it does hinder my ability to hold plank or chaturanga for longer than a millisecond. Not that I was getting to the point where I was plankin’ it up for minutes at a time, but I did seem to be making some progress. At least I didn’t quite feel like poor Tinman up there; I can still manage forward folds all right. 🙂

Crossing my fingers that taking some extra magnesium and potassium might help out my muscles. Not that yoga is about being super athletic and macho and workin’ out MAN (which I have to keep telling myself), but it would be nice to be able to make a little bit of progress in holding poses.

My mood has been slightly low but more or less steady today, which I’m going to go ahead and be grateful for, given that the rollercoastery-ness (yes, that’s a word now) of the last few days. Grief, mood disorders, and hormone fluctuations are quite the partners in crime.

Back to homework and to being distracted by my cats’ antics (Dexter is playing with an unidentified object and Rita is sitting in the middle of box watching him with an expression of disdain).

Leave a Reply

