Girl on Fire

This morning, as I lay in my bed and saw the summer sunshine coming through my window and pondering how I could procrastinate packing again, I decided a bike ride sounded nice. I headed to the dirt trail nearby that runs along a ditch and biked to my usual spot, which overlooks the valley. Then, on a whim, I decided to go a little farther. And a little farther. And then I didn’t stop until I reached Hole in the Wall, where the water in the ditch flows through a hole that was drilled into the mountain. I was not quite prepared for such an arduous journey, considering I only had one measly little water bottle, no gloves (surprisingly I only developed one blister, though), and a temperature of 90+ degrees to contend with. In the desert.

One of the few shady spots along the trail

Once I reached my destination, I took off my shoes and socks and waded into the ditch. I also may have splashed some water all over my hair and face.

Cooling off at Hole in the Wall

I made my way across the ditch and sat in a shady spot for a while, during which time a couple came by and chatted about how good the water felt after that hot ride in the desert run. Hopefully by this time the red in my face had calmed down enough not to frighten them.

This pink face is nothin’ compared to the end result. No, I’m not going to show you a picture of that.

Ultimately, it was pretty silly of me to do a 10-mile (approximately…I might be rounding slightly up) bike ride only being prepared to do a 5-mile one, but it ended up being a lot of (exhausting) fun. I also managed to get in my yoga practice, although it wasn’t too intense after that workout–Sun Salutation A (x3), Sun Salutation B (x3), a few backbends, Dandasana, some shoulder stretches.

I also discovered a new favorite snack. Greek yogurt with honey, strawberries, blueberries, and granola.

Looks like bird poo, tastes like Heaven

I’ve been using Udi’s Gluten Free Granola, and it tastes fantastic. I would say it’s even better than any regular granola I’ve ever tried. Of course, being gluten-free does not make it sugar-free, but a little bit of it sprinkled on top makes for a seriously delicious parfait.

The colors also remind me of something…the 4th of July! I hope everyone had a great holiday.

Leave a Reply

