Change

My job at the animal hospital came to an end one week ago–I can’t believe it’s been that long already. There are certainly aspects of the job I’ll miss, but it’s time for me to take a leap. A leap halfway across the country, as it were. 

In about three weeks (only three weeks!) I’ll be watching good ole Reno grow smaller and smaller in my rearview mirror as I head toward Austin, Texas. The future is uncertain: Will this journalism grad program click with me? Will I have a hard time living away from family and friends? How long will I stay there? I don’t know, but if the future were certain, we’d all be bored as hell.

So obviously I’m nearly done packing, right? If you know me at all, you know the answer to this question is something along the lines of “Haaaa yeah right!” I meant to get a good start on it today but became completely engrossed in The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, the novel I assigned to my book club  for this month. I ended up reading it in its entirety, beginning to end, basically in one sitting. I tend to go for periods without reading any books, and then suddenly devour them like I’m starving for words. I’ve been wanting to read this one for a while and ended up loving it even more than I thought I would. In addition to the intriguing and culturally significant plot line about a woman being put into sexual slavery on account of her rare fertility, Margaret Atwood writes like a freakin’ dream–like literally, I dream about being able to write like that. I mean, obviously, she’s Margaret Atwood. 

Image

Although sadly I haven’t made it to Jen’s class in a few weeks due to reasons like trips to the lake cabin and accidental naps on the couch, I’ve been keeping up my home yoga practice for the past several days, in addition to being busy with fun things (poor me) like 4th of July festivities and a birthday BBQ for my “BFF.” I’ve also been watching a few yoga videos, some of which are how-to’s, such as How to Safely Get Into a Headstand, and some of which are people doing insanely advanced yoga, like the video below, which are both encouraging because you can see what is actually possible for human beings to do and discouraging because, WTF DUDE I’m still learning how to stay in a headstand for more than 2 breaths!

Third series. It’s kind of hard to imagine even mastering the first. This lady studied with Pattabbhi Jois himself. And she’s clearly a freak of nature. Ok, or just someone extremely dedicated to her yoga and has committed to years of daily practice. 🙂

I’ve been checking out the yoga studios in Austin–there are a plethora of them!–and trying to narrow down the one I might like to go to regularly. So far I’m liking Bfree, Yoga Yoga, and Black Swan. Yoga Yoga might end up being a winner since members can to go to any of their several locations, and they have vinyasa and Ashtanga, my favorite types of yoga.

I’ve also been doing general research on Austin and came across this politically incorrect map:

Image

Ha!

Off to om it up for the day.

Leave a Reply

